“Mommy sometimes I feel like I’m not Mexican enough and that I’m not American … it’s weird…”

My seven year old daughter, Lyn is in the place I was when I was her age and although I tell her this she still finds it hard to connect with the books she reads. I began to search online different books where young people or young characters shared the same adversities my daughter might be going through right now. I ordered a few books but these two impacted me the most:

61be0904-0a09-4e6d-a4a8-a6ee586b5aaa-14716-00000c0b85cd8528_file

Black Enough which is a collection of stories of young black people in America it is Edited by Ibi Zoboi.

I am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter by: Erika L. Sanchez

There are a few picture books but these books are more meaningful and bring out so many topics for us to talk about.

All for now,

smarana00

Leave a comment